To an enemy hypocrite

Medusa

I never thought you had the guile
To hate me secretly the while
You hid behind an actor’s smile.

Was it worth your hours of time
To lead me on? In wasting mine
You did yourself but undermine.

What did you gain by hidden hate?
The pride of knowing I, too late,
Would work out you’re a hypocrite?
You spite me for the fun of it?

I’ll never understand your ends
In posing falsely as my friends.

Much better if you honestly
Had hated me just openly.
But your preferred hypocrisy
Like serpents who sting shamefully
Ambushing an adversary.

God save me from all villainy
As you sometime performed on me.

Leave a Reply

