Soul to Soul

Take my hand

There was friendship in the world here once. When soul knit unto soul
As Johnathan’s to David knit. Two parts making one whole.
Have all such friendships disappeared? Do they exist today?
I wonder. And I doubt it much. It’s very rare, I say.

Perhaps each generation sees such friendship. Perhaps not.
I couldn’t guarantee it. It’s not been my earthly lot.
But perhaps somewhere, perhaps somewhen, such friendship might exist.
I hope so. It is in such things that heaven will consist.

Leave a Reply

