Five Wounds

Five Holy Wounds

Two nail-pierced hands which held Him there
Cross-bound, suspended in the air.
Two hands – so gentle, kind and strong
Transfixed to bear my sin, my wrong.

Two nailed feet, on which He stood
To gasp in air long as He should.
Then laid He down His life in death –
His life for mine surrendereth.

His spear-pierced side, His gushing blood
The price Christ paid. He understood
No other way could redeem man.
Christ lived to die: that was His plan.

Five wounds – His death has set me free!
His life for mine: His death for me!
Why for me should Christ want to die
When I was still His enemy?
God is love: that’s the reason why.

Leave a Reply

