Body Mind Soul Spirit – Body

Soul Eye

This lump of clay – of muscle, nerves and bone
With which I taste and smell and see and hear
And touch: its senses five are mine alone
And they are me. This mortal clay I bear
Responding instantly to my mere thought
Excludes the world. This body is my own
Whose limits I accept. Its skills self-taught
Extend what it can do. It is on loan
Which – although loath – I must return one day
Whether I will or no. Resistance vain
I shall not make. My body back to clay
Returns. No more the vehicle of my brain.
As death draws nearer, I reflect and find
I wonder what shall happen to the mind?

Body | Mind | Soul | Spirit

Leave a Reply

