Twists of Life

Escher Stairs

I did not think that Life would lead me here.
I wonder – did I somehow take a turn
Or wrong twist somewhere? Quandaries appear
And still I feel I have so much to learn.
Who thought my Life would turn out in this way?
I didn’t. Happy dreams fall shattered round
Stone-cold realities that don’t obey
My whims: rather beset me and astound
My senses. I fight back as best I can
Prevailing slightly sometimes. In the main
I lose. The world ignores the single man
To crush him – never noticing his pain.
However I got here – I journey on.
A flitting shadow glimpsed – then quickly gone.

Leave a Reply

