What do You Want?

Shake

Someone says: “I’m your friend!” Then I reply:
“What do you want?” Patent hypocrisy
Is tiresome. I do not think to try
To draw the game out somewhat socially.
I have no good looks. Wealth I have not much.
I’m not charming, nor witty. This I know.
Those who pretend to be my friends or such
Pursue but some self-interest by this show.
I walk away. Let them caress the air
And speak their empty flatteries to a wall.
They want something from me. So – should I care?
I cannot say that I’m impressed at all.
My best of friends are: me, myself and I.
A sure refuge from lying tongues thereby.

Leave a Reply

