Friends to Foes

Friendship Mask

I’ve seen so many friends turn into foes
As soon as their self-interest does dictate.
And cynically I note that each of those
Might turn again – if I would choose to wait.
I don’t so choose. So let them turn again
And turning, turn themselves all inside out
If so they wish. Forgive them, I am fain.
But trust them? Nevermore. What they’re about
Is to position themselves on the side
Of short-term benefit. But what I want
Is friendship true. Whatever they decide
They’ll use me as their tool, if this I grant.
My heart I guard close from such treacheries.
Who lacks for foes – when he has friends like these?

Leave a Reply

