My Idol

stone idol

My idol is a little god I made
A thing made by my skillful working hands.
So I control this little god displayed
Inside my home. My idol understands:
He does not seek control over my life
He doesn’t make demands on what I do.
He can’t do much – at all. We avoid strife
And go our ways: I do what I want to.
I worship this my idol: for I must.
A man is made to worship after all!
Who’d to a bigger God his life entrust?
He’d interfere with me and mine withal!
An idol god is little, safe and sure.
A God bigger than me, I must infer
Might just insist to Him I must defer.

Leave a Reply

