Broken – First Movement

Broken Man Falling Apart

They promised health and wealth right now. That sounded rather nice.
If it was true. What thinking being needed to think twice?
There was a catch (there always is): that if these things I lacked
Twas due my lack of faith that blessings I did not attract.
Such winsome lies – such vile half-truths – are all too often spoken.
But all their shafts fly wide. Because – I am a man who’s broken.

Just read this book! Attend this course! List – you’ll gain success!
Perhaps. Maybe. If Fate confirms our lucky second-guess.
What if you get it wrong? Karma? Or maybe it’s a curse
Inside your DNA that makes you act to make things worse?
Perhaps you’ll blame the stars? From all such fantasies I’ve woken:
I have my limitations. For I am a man who’s broken.

Leave a Reply

