Friendliness

Marble Face

I once thought being friendly to each one
Would reap a harvest of rich friends so dear
To me: would open doors in hearts new-won
To fellowship with me for many a year.
It is untrue. Friendliness rarely sows
More than short-term politeness while they think
To gain advantage over you by shows
Of phony care: while from true love all shrink.
I might search all I want to find one friend –
But fruitlessly. By now it is too clear
All prefer other smiles. Why pretend
The world is fair? It never was, my dear.
Hence put off friendliness: conclude to wear
Instead a marble face and stony stare.

Leave a Reply

