I once was happy

Walking Away

We once were happy. But it was a lie.
I thought all things were going rather well.
But then you pulled the scales from my eye
And dragged me down into the pits of hell.
I thought you loved me. Still, a little bit
Perhaps you do. But not as soul to soul
As once we did – I thought. So is this it –
We’re but two singles – instead of one whole?
I love you still. Though now your separate mind
Moves far away upon your own interest
Excluding me increasingly. Unkind
To throw me leavings instead give your best.
I love you more than life. It’s not enough
To reach a soul whose outside grows stone-tough.

Leave a Reply

