I Know What I Want

 

Galactus World Destroyer

I know what I want. I want to be popular – the cynosure surrounded by fawning crowds applauding my scintillating wit.
I know what I want. I want to control and to rule: to reshape the world as I wish, to control nations, peoples, and kingdoms.
I know what I want. I want unmitigated pleasure on demand and instantaneously.
I know what I want. I want to myself know, perceive, and understand more than any abstruse gaggle of philosophers, geniuses, or savants.
I know what I want. I want to be admired, loved and adored by minions whenever I appear in public.
I know what I want. I want to be independent of other people’s: customs, laws, biases, prejudices, goodwill, influence, and limits.
I know what I want. I want friends – people I trust and who trust me.
I know what I want. I want to be a god.

Just as Adam and Eve wanted in Eden. Before they both fell.
So: do I really know what I want?

Leave a Reply

