Stand Strong

Broken Pillars

I am a pillar. Broken near the base
Amidst the rubble of my life’s decay
Brought about by hard blows, slanderous disgrace –
This undeserved – in a bygotten day
Some years agone. Yet still the pillar stands
For it is marble, set upon a rock
Of solid mountain – and not shifting sands –
That can resist each earthquake’s aftershock
As Fortune’s wheel turns to grind me down
I enjoy simple joys that make Life good.
Although it often feels that I must drown
A mountain bears me up: that’s understood.
A pillar shattered, I – yet stand I will
For ‘neath me, a mountain supports me still.

Leave a Reply

