Burning Bridges – Third Movement

Burning Bridge

I burned the bridges down today that chained me to my home.
The home that was – exists no more. And now I stand alone.

I burned the bridges down today that chained me to my kin
Who loved me not – but loved right well their: lies, slander, and spin.

I burned the bridges down today that chained me to my kirk
Who thieved my coin, but gave naught back: except futile slave-work.

I burned the bridges down today that chained me to my friends
Who played me false. Into the flames ersatz attachment ends.

I burned the bridges down today that chained me to my trade.
No paper-shuffling now for me: a better choice I’ve made!

I crossed over the bridge today to join my family.
They’re so much more important that those other things for me.

Leave a Reply

