Baby Eyes

Baby eyes

My baby looks at everything around her with surprise.
I wonder how things look were I to see with: baby eyes?

My eyes: all wide with wonder, staring, reveling in sight.
My eyes: first seeing everything with undisguised delight.
My eyes: a-swirl with colour and with shape and form and line.
My eyes: devour greedily – for everything’s a sign.

Seeing for the first time: here a cloud and there a star.
Seeing things that are up close: and things receding far.
Searching faces for a smile that light up when they see
A father’s face, a mother’s, siblings’, laughing back at me.

Seeing is a miracle: that every day supplies
My mind with sight and wonders new. God give me: baby eyes.

Leave a Reply

