Busy Waiting

Waiting

I’m doing. Doing. Doing. Doing. I’m on the go. Go. Go.

Oh – it’s so easy to get hooked on superfluity of action: to blot out any sense of my conscious helplessness and lack of direction in life. Embarking upon ceaseless frenetic activity will help me forget my worries and cares: action is, after all, the cheapest analgesic to dull the painful reminders that my life seems a dead-end.

Because it’s so much easier to do than to be. And whoever wrote “those who wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength”? What is that meant to mean? Anyone with an ounce of common sense can see that to get stronger I just need to sign up to a fitness club with a graduated exercise program.

Because waiting brings me face to face with myself: and with God. How embarrassing: what a waste of time! Don’t think about it: time to perform more nugatory actions!

Leave a Reply

