Life of the Party

Pick a Mask

He was the life of each and every party
He joked. His wit was sharp – as I heard tell.
He was quite popular. He seemed well-hearty
He could talk easily – and he talked well.
But when I met him on another day
Alone, he quite ignored me. I, for him,
Was no foil for what he wished to say.
He spurned me, walked quick past while looking grim.
I think his life is not worthwhile living:
To constantly perform and seek to charm
Each person. He’s an actor always giving
Himself the central part. Then moving on.
His true self he must hide. Always a mask
He wears. Acting his self-engrossing task.

Leave a Reply

