Crucified

Jesus crucified

I stretched my hand out to the right
To greet relations who I thought
Me loved. But these but evil wrought:
Me cursed, me hated, pouring spite
Into my soul like poisoned brand.
They drove the nail into my hand.

I stretched my hand out to the left
To welcome in-laws as my friends.
But these but wickedness intend
Me slandered, and reviled. Bereft
Of every good, their ire fanned,
They drove the nail into my hand.

I thought my spiritual family
Would love me, cherish, and protect.
Instead: each godly impulse checked,
With lies and base hypocrisy
Their false betrayals bring defeat
While driving nails through my feet.

In other places, I had found –
I thought – acquaintances and friends.
But these but used me for their ends
And laughing, left me. Having crowned
Me with their mocking crown of thorns.
And left me bleeding, broken, torn.

For humans cannot love a man.
Although they may pretend awhile.
Extort his money using guile
And waste his time as best they can.
These humans, devils have inside
And leave me hanging – crucified.

Leave a Reply

