Orpheus Sings – The Singer

I woke and I sat ‘pon the whitened sands
Near the azure seas of immortal lands
And I rose and turned round to gaze at the sky
While I laughed and ran and I wondered why
I had come to this place where there was no death
To still my breath.

As I walked, approached a celestial man
Who showed me the way to a path that ran
To a shady glade and a shadowed nook
With the greenest grass and a running brook.
And he passed me a lyre – he had tuned each string –
Asked if I could sing?

Could I sing! Why the songs that went round my head!
I could sing all night! But of course! I said.
So I touched up the strings with a merry tune
Of the happiest song did I sing so soon.
While I sang in my joy and my happiness
I caused them distress.

So they seized my lyre and they threw it away
To the bed of the stream, there they let it lay.
“Let a mortal play – all his songs weep sadness!
Every note he sings – sound despair an’ madness!
Touch his lyre no more, let it lie in the rill!”
And it lies there still.

So I wondered then, how a mortal heart
Could be healed in full, from this sorrow-smart
And be purified, from each tearful stain
Every fear removed, though by scorching flame.
For how else can my mortal heart enjoy
Their immortal joy?

Listen!

Twitter icon
iTunes Icon
One thought on “Orpheus Sings – The Singer

Leave a Reply

