How many times?

Praying hands

  • “And Jesus told them a parable,
  • to the effect that they should always pray and not to turn coward –
  • faint, lose heart, and give up.”

(Lk 18:1) AMP

(Rhyhming couplets)

  • And how many times today
  • Should I have prayed, but ran away?
  • I sheltered in my puny strength
  • And pride that runs through all my length
  • And breadth of soul like cancer cells
  • That stunt my faith. Make it unwell,
  • E’en sick to death of seeking Him.
  • Hampered by my chains of sin.
  • I turned a coward. Away I turned
  • Although within my conscience burned
  • Still up I gave and turned away.
  • Enough! I’m on my knees. Let’s pray.

Leave a Reply

