I am a broken jar of clay

Falling glass breaking

  • “But we have this treasure in jars [or vessels] of clay…” 2 Cor 4:7 Read more…

What happens when a clay vessel breaks?

They hurt me badly. They cursed me with unfounded lies: their gossip destroyed my friendships.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And God shone through.


They destroyed my job. They ground me down with bitter jeering until my spirit was crushed.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And God shone through.


They bullied my children. They threatened them with clenched fists and violent strength.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And God shone through.


They screamed angry abuse in my face. They cursed me in the name of their gods.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And Christ shone through.


They stole what was mine, what I had worked for. They vandalised what I owned.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And Christ shone through.


They attacked my wife with knifes.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And Christ shone through.


They cursed my marriage. They rejoiced to think they might break the marriage-bond.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And The Spirit spoke.


Pretending friendship, they slandered me secretly. They undermined my every effort with a covering smile.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And The Spirit spoke.


They hated me without cause. Their eyes looked daggers. Their visage was ice.

But I forgave them. I prayed for them.
And the clay vessel cracked. And The Spirit broke every stronghold.
And Christ reigned in me.


Leave a Reply

